Lorde – “Liability” Review

A week after the release of the amazing “Green Light,” Lorde has blessed us with ballad, “Liability,” from her upcoming album, Melodrama.

“Liability” is heartbreaking, truly heartbreaking.

Speaking to Zane Lowe, she said:

“It’s interesting because I had this realisation that because of my lifestyle and what I do for work there’s going to be a point with every single person around me where I’m gonna be attacks on them in some way. If it is having to give up a little portion of their privacy or their life becoming more difficult or whatever. It was just this moment of sadness and I remember it so vividly.”

The song is set over a simple and touching piano, to really show off Lorde’s vulnerability and the emotion in the lyrics.

The lyrics discuss the feeling that overcame her in the taxi one night, like the quote above says, her life will impact those who she cares the most about and therefore she is a liability to them.

Lorde’s vocals are untouched (just like on “Green Light”), which really adds to the sadness of this heart pouring moment. Her vocal goes from realisation to sadness and towards the end of the track, even anger that her career is having such an impact.

“THEY SAY, YOU’RE A LITTLE MUCH FOR ME/YOU’RE A LIABILITY/SO THEY PULL BACK/MAKE OTHER PLANS/I UNDERSTAND/I’M A LIABILITY/GET YOU WILD, MAKE YOU LEAVE/I’M A LITTLE MUCH FOR EVERYONE”

We’ve all had one of those moments in life, haven’t we? Where we’ve felt “a little much for everyone?”

This song truly sees Lorde at her lowest, but what a heartbreaking song!

What do you think of “Liability?” Check it out below and let us know your thoughts in the comments!

Leave a comment